Posted in Quotes

Quote #24

“We started as best friends… and ended as strangers.”

– Yours Truly

Posted in Cardfight Vanguard

Turn 2: Rules and Regulations

Stand up, Vanguard!

I decided that I will show you how the game is played so you will understand me when I begin narrating my experiences. So without further adieu, let us begin. (Ado or adieu? nigahiga said it was “adieu”…)

First off, following the guide book that is inclusive in the trial deck, we shall start with the kinds of cards and its important parts. There are three kinds of cards – the normal unit, trigger unit, and finally the G unit. Normal units have black margins at the bottom, trigger units have yellow, and G units have red. We’ll skip their info for now and move on to the basic parts of a card.

The number situated at the uppermost left is the “grade”. There are currently five grades, from 0 to 4. And now we shall return to the unfinished info about unit type. (Such McArthur xD) Most trigger units are grade 0, with the exception of starting vanguards, which are normal units. Grades 1, 2 and 3 are all normal units. Lastly, Most G units are grade 4 with the exception of three cards.

Let’s move on to the parts of a card.

cfvparts.pngAs you can see here, there are seven main parts of a card. First is the grade, which we have discussed. Underneath the grade is the skill. There are four types of skills: Boost, Intercept, Twin Drive and Triple Drive. Grade 0 and 1 cards have Boost, where, as the name implies, they can boost, or ad their power to the unit in front of them. Grade 2 units have Intercept, in which they can intercept an incoming attack, thereby blocking it. Grade 3 units have Twin Drive, where instead of just one drive check, upon attacking with your vanguard, you can have two drive checks. We’ll talk about drive checks in a moment. And lastly, Triple Drive. Common sense – three drive checks.

Next is the Shield. Note: only Grade 0, 1 and 2 units have shields, along with some chosen Grade 4 units. Shields range from 5000 to 15000 depending on the unit. Grade 0s have 10000 shield, Grade 1s and 2s have 5000, and the special Grade 4s have 15000. Then we have ability. Most cards have abilities, while a few don’t have. This is the most tedious part to explain, so I’ll cover this soon. Up next is the name. I don’t need to explain this, right? Ah, but I have to. At times, abilities require special names in order to activate. For example… actually, forget it.

Power! This is the power of the card. (You don’t say.) Grade 0s have powers ranging from 3000 to 6000. Grade 1s usually have 4000 to 8000 power. Grade 2s are around 7000 to 11000, Grade 3s range from 9000 to 12000, and Grade 4s are the strongest, with the least being 13000 and the strongest being 15000. There is a 4000 Grade 4 unit, though. (haha)

Critical. This is the amount of damage you deal to an opponent if your attack hits the opponent’s vanguard. One critical equals one damage. However, there are abilities that can increase criticals, and once you have 6 damage, you lose. Oh, I forgot to explain damage. It’s measured by the cards you have in the damage zone.

And lastly, the clan and race. The clan is like the family of the card, and there are currently 26 legitimate clans in the game. (Yes, because there are a few clans that exist but are not playable.) As for the race, it’s like a sub-clan, but there are more varieties, like Human, Elf, Angel, the like.

Whoa… that took so much out of me. And we’re not even halfway done yet. I guess I’ll have to recommend that you watch the anime so it’ll be easier for you to understand. You can find it on Youtube, Cardfight!! Vanguard or Cardfight!! Vanguard G. There are currently 8 seasons, so good luck.

Anyway, it’s very late, and I still have to study for exams, so see you next time. This is the Generation Master. I end my turn.