Posted in Poems

31: My Smile

This is the final revision of my poem, and I felt that I have to share it with you guys. So without further ado… let us begin.

My Smile
By: Joshua A. Inopiquez

Alas! I see the world concealed in fog
Its beauty reflected through the spectacles,
From light beyond my impaired vision
Far from suffering and merciless shackles.  

Now soaring high through the heavens,
Hearing the boy’s laugh, as if on cloud nine.
Oh, what a wonderful sound it was, yes…
What a marvelous sight if his grin became mine.

I’ve been walking aimlessly for countless eons
The gnawing sensation within me is unparalleled
Wandering through the fog without a beacon
For he ripped it away, and onto it he held

My eyesight darkens as I approach the form
I wish to see his smile become dimmer
So materializing out of the smoke, I stab him
But why? His smile didn’t seem to waver.

A river of rich, fresh blood trickles down my shin
While the mist lifts, unveiling his concealed face
Then I look upon him-Oh… what a fool I have been
For it was my own happiness I have taken

I don’t have much to say about my creation, so I guess this is your proud blogger The EnglishRazor, logging off.

Author:

With my pen, the world sits in the palm of my hand.

Leave a Reply

