Posted in BloodRazor

20: Inconsistent Definition

Sleeping for 16 hours straight isn’t really good. For one, I missed our group filming for Filipino. Now I don’t know what to do about that… and another, there were so much problems that I could have fixed at 9 pm last night. But no, I had to sleep at 6 pm and wake up at 10 am. Should have listened to my phone’s alarm.

Anyway, I don’t usually talk about this topic, but I’ll summon up some emotions so I can work this out.

I’ve met so much people in my life with different attitudes. Helpful. Annoying. Friendly. Bad boy. Flirt. But I’ve learned to get past these defenses and dive deeper into the person. (Although usually it is them who dive deeper into me. But meh.) Anyway, whenever we get to a particular topic, it appears that every person has a different opinion about it.

Nii-chan said don’t rush it.

Dave said loving doesn’t hurt.

Jetka said you cannot love two people at the same time.

But really… how does one define love?  According to Merriam-Webster, this is the simple definition of love.

  • a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person
  • : attraction that includes sexual desire : the strong affection felt by people who have a romantic relationship
  • : a person you love in a romantic way

But like I said, this is the simple one. In Merriam-Webster, there are 9 ways to define love, and even then, each one has its own idea. Even the greatest dictionary in the world cannot accurately define this four-letter word, much less us.

I won’t define love, as that is not my goal in this post. The point is this: why do people’s opinions about love differ from each other? Maybe because they haven’t experienced it yet and are just relying on hearsay and secondhand experience, or maybe they have experienced the sad and painful side of love. I don’t know for sure. All I know is this: experience has shaped and sculpted the way people think about love.

This inconsistent definition has brought an amount of turmoil in my mind. I’ve tried to calm myself down and try to sort out my thoughts, but these efforts were futile. Arranging and sorting out disheveled stuff was never my forte, anyway.

I’ll still try. I won’t give up. That’s my motto. As long as there’s a chance, as long as I have the power to believe, I won’t, I can’t, and I shan’t give up. This is your blogger who will not give up, The EnglishRazor, taking a rest.

 

 

 

Author:

With my pen, the world sits in the palm of my hand.

Leave a Reply

