Posted in EnglishRazor

7: Promises

A nice afternoon to everyone. I’m trying to keep my mind off the problems I have, so I decided to write again. By the way, It’s already July 10, but I only have 7 blog posts. You can’t blame me if I want each of my posts perfect and beautiful.

So, let’s begin.

Why the title? Because I want to share my feelings and ideas about this particular topic, promises.

Honestly, I don’t believe in promises anymore. I myself was a person who tends to break his promises. And I’ve learned from the people who broke their promises to me. Before you make a promise, you have to make sure that you can fulfill it, whatever may happen. But what does the word “promise” really mean?

  • : a statement telling someone that you will definitely do something or that something will definitely happen in the future

  • : an indication of future success or improvement

  • : a reason to expect that something will happen in the future

 According to the Merriam-Webster English Dictionary, a promise is a “statement telling someone that you will definitely do something”. So why do some people still break their promises? Maybe because they don’t have enough guts to follow through with it, or they just thought that fulfilling the promise wasn’t worth it. Or maybe they just couldn’t do it.
And to let you guys know, I don’t make promises anymore. When someone asks me to promise him or her something, I look them in the eye and say “I’m not promising anything. Because I will do it.” So don’t ever make me promise something. I firmly believe that promises, however big, however small, are created to be broken in the end. I won’t have anything to say about those people who keep their promises.
And there you go. Another piece of my head, transferred to my fingers, through the keyboard and onto this post. Well, it’s dinnertime. See you guys later. This is your promising blogger The EnglishRazor, logging off.
(This is a terribly short blog post, by my standards.)
Author:

With my pen, the world sits in the palm of my hand.

One thought on “7: Promises

Leave a Reply

