Posted in EnglishRazor

4: My Best Friend

A pleasant evening, guys. I know I haven’t been able to write (or type) much, but it’s because I want all my creations, however small, however large, to be close to perfect. I always strive to make sure everything I write is my masterpiece, something I can be proud of. But sometimes, it can’t be helped, especially if under time pressure.

Tonight, I want to tell more about myself. And I decided that my best friend is someone worth telling about, something that is not my masterpiece but someone I am proud of.

His name is Kenshin, better known in the cyber world as The Iron Samurai. Kenshin D. Maehara is a half-Filipino, half-Japanese who has walked the Earth for 15 years, 9 months and 4 days. Like me, he is currently a grade 10 student at Manila Science High School. He was born somewhere in Japan and began his education there, but halfway through he transferred to the Philippines to “learn better English”.

I do not have the liberty of saying much about him, so I guess I’ll stop there. But that doesn’t mean I’m done. In fact, we are just getting started.

We first met officially on June 2, 2014. Both of us were in Grade 8 – Edison, and like every other friends, started out as strangers. Before Grade 8, I thought of him as “the Japanese guy” while he thought of me as “the guy who has a crush on J——“. Who knew that we had the same seat in a certain subject. It was during that subject that I vandalized the chair with my name and her name, along with three hearts. As luck would have it, that was his exact same seat.

Anyway, we weren’t that close early on in Grade 8. I usually hang out with Dominic, Enzo and James. It got harder for me to socialize with him when he became the class president, as he became a sort of terrifying leader. Mrs. Palisoc unknowingly solved that by making us groupmates in APEH. So during the First Quarter, our friendship was thready.

However, as the weeks passed, we grew closer, maybe because we taught him that card game that Dominic and I play. Or maybe because we were fated to be friends.

Then his special day came. Him and a bunch of other classmates were working on the class poster thing. Usually, I’d go home early or play with Dominic, but that day, a strange force compelled me to assist them. With a litle extra help, they finished it earlier than expected. After cleaning up, Kenshin asked me if I could come with him on his birthday. Naturally, I agreed, and along with his mom, we went to Robinsons to have a nice little birthday dinner.

Since that day, we became close friends. I began hanging out with him more often. I’d do my APEH assignments at school to mess a little with him. We began doing things together.

On February 6, 2015, I had my first heartbreak. Kenshin was one of the four people who sat with me and comforted me as I broke down in class. He was there, and I was so thankful for that.

However, rifts form in every friendship. By the end of the school year, he became more busy and agitated because of the extra work the president has to do for clearance. And the lazy me was not cooperating with him. I think he got pissed at me for that, but at that time, I was too lazy to care. On the last day of school, though, he gave me these words: “If I’m still classmates with you next year, I don’t know, man… I don’t know.”

Guess what-he did not know. 9 – Burbank. Where Kenshin and I officially became best friends. But our Grade 9 adventures will be for my next blog post.

It’s twilight hour, everyone, so goodnight. This is your friendly blogger The EnglishRazor, logging off. Konbanwa desu.

Author:

With my pen, the world sits in the palm of my hand.

4 thoughts on “4: My Best Friend

Leave a Reply

